top of page



The BMX events will take place at Ariake Urban Sports Park. The venue will provide a festival-like experience and atmosphere to visitors attending the Games.

Roland Ogg



The Racing competition is made up of three rounds: quarter - finals, semi - finals and a final.

The riders will be seeded into four quarter final groups based on a time trail. Each quarter - final is comprised of five runs, using a point for place system. The top two riders after three runs advances to the semifinal without having to finish the remaining runs, in addition the top two remaining riders will progress after the full five runs. The semi - finals consists of three runs, where the top four in each group advances to the final. The final will be a one race contest.



The Park competition is made up of two rounds: prelims and finals.


The BMX Park competition will use the same format as during UCI BMX Freestyle World Cup events. Each rider will perform two 60 second runs, and the best run score counts as their final score.


A panel of judges will judge each run on a scale of 0,00 - 99,99, and the score reported is the average of the scores decided by each judge. 



The judging panel will use the below criteria to formulate a single score based on overall impression of a riders performance relative to those already done by the other riders. 


  • Difficulty of tricks 

  • Progression 

  • Amplitude 

  • Flow 

  • Use of course

  • Risk factor 

  • Variety of tricks 

  • Style 

  • Execution 

  • Originality 

  • Landings 



For the newcomer BMX Park 18 riders (9 men and 9 women) with a maximum of 2 riders per gender and per NOC will be able to qualify to the Olympic Games. Also the Host nation Japan is guaranteed one spot per gender. If Japan qualifies through one of the other pathways, it opens the spot for an additional country to qualify. 


During the qualification period from 1 November 2018 to 11 May 2020 riders will earn points for their countries (NOC’s) at the events listed below. The points of the two highest ranked riders in the UCI individual ranking from each NOC (National Olympic Committee) is used to form an Olympic Qualification ranking that will be used to qualify 6 countries at the end of the qualification period. The final 2 spots will go to countries based on individual performance at the 2019 UCI Urban Cycling World Championships. If their country is already qualified, the spot will go to the next-highest ranking country who has not yet qualified. 


  • UCI Urban Cycling World Championships

  • UCI BMX Freestyle Park World Cup Stages

  • Continental BMX Freestyle Park Championships

  • International BMX Freestyle Park Competition

  • National BMX Freestyle Park Championships


For BMX Racing a total of 48 riders ( 24 per gender) with a maximum of 3 riders per gender and per NOC will be able to qualify. As in BMX Park the Host Nation Japan is guaranteed one spot per gender, and if Japan qualifies through the normal pathway the spot will be reallocated. The remaining 23 spots per gender will be filled as follows: 


  • 3 spots will go to the three highest ranked nations, not yet qualified, based on the UCI BMX Individual Rankings of 2nd June 2020. This is to accommodate smaller nations that may not have 3 racers to count towards nation rankings.

  • 2 spots will go to the highest ranked nation from the Individual results at the 2020 UCI BMX World Championships

  • The two highest ranked nations based on the Olympic Rankings of 2nd June will get 3 spots each 

  • Nations ranked 3 to 5 will each get 2 spots and nations ranked 6 to 11 will each receive 1 spot. 


During the qualification period from 1st September 2018 until 1st June 2020 racers will earn points at the following events:


  • UCI BMX World Championships 

  • UCI BMX Supercross World Cup Stages 

  • Continental BMX Championships 

  • International competitions

  • National BMX Championships

Keep in mind that this is how countries (NOC’s) qualify. Which riders each country chooses to compete is up to them. Usually countries will send their highest-placing riders. However, they are not required to.

Due to the current situation in the world, The International Cycling Union has approved a revised qualification system for the 2021 Tokyo Olympics. Please see click here for more info!

bottom of page